Day Nine: The Listening

25 11 2008

For the past month and a half, I’ve been making it through my days and nights listening to Marvin Gaye albums—Here, My Dear, Let’s Get It On, and I Want You in particular. Maybe that’s why my Big Fish are skewed the way they are. Each person is probably two degrees or less away from the Prince of Motown. And truth be told, my favorite singer pantheon has always been limited to Minnie, Stevie, and Michael (the 1968-82 versions), but I think I’m willing to do some reorganization and clear some space for Marvin. I’m violating my rules on this one because sometimes you have to let the music do the talking or writing, as it were.

Here are my favorite mid-to-late 1970s Marvin Gaye songs, plus an extra cut I didn’t even know existed from Tammi Terrell.

Enjoy!

“Come Live With Me, Angel” from I Want You

“Just to Keep You Satisfied” from Let’s Get It On

“Anna’s Song” from the brilliant, yet criminally underrated Here, My Dear

Bonus Jam: “All I Do” by Tammi Terrell written by then 16-year-old Stevie Wonder

Actions

Information

One response

25 11 2008
Dr. Tom Bibey

I’m an old bluegrass guy, but Marvin Gaye rocked.

drtombibey.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

